

# 2024 Scarborough Sharks Girls Hockey Association (SSGHA) Annual General Meeting

Meeting Date: Wednesday May 15, 2024

**Time:** 8:30 – 9:00 PM

Location: Virtual via Zoom/Google Meet

# Agenda:

- 1. Call to order (8:30 PM sharp)
- 2. Minutes May 2023 AGM
- 3. President's (League's) Address
- 4. Annual Financial Statement
- 5. Election/Acclamation SSGHA Executive Committee 2024-2025
- 6. Ratification of Changes to By-Laws, Rules, Regulations and Appointments Made by the Executive Committee during the 2023-2024 season
- 7. SSGHA 2025 AGM
- 8. Adjournment

#### **SSGHA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2023**

Please note that every member of the Association is entitled to vote. An Executive member is not allowed to vote for a member. The President may only vote in the event of a tie. Votes will be by raised hands unless otherwise requested. All motions will be carried by a majority vote of member present.

A list of proposed amendments to the Constitution, By-laws, Regulations and Rules, which will be dealt with at this Annual General Meeting is below.

These proposed amendments, in order to go forward at the SSGHA Annual General Meeting, must be moved by the individual who submitted them or by a voting delegate for that individual who is present at the meeting.

Any voting delegate wishing to submit proposed amendments to the 2023-2024 Constitution must provide notice at the 2024 Annual General Meeting, where they will be announced. Please have amendments prepared in writing in submitted to the SSGHA Secretary at this year's meeting.

A copy of the Minutes from the 2023 Annual General Meeting are attached.

The AGM package has been posted and made available to delegates via the Sharks website.

Guests are welcome to attend as observers, with speaking privileges at the discretion of the President.

#### **Election of Officer and Board of Directors**

#### 2024-2025 Executive Committee

Position	Slate
President	Shirley Collins
Vice President, Competitive Teams	Wendy Horst
Vice President, House League	Jason George
Secretary	Lindsay Dupuis
Treasurer (interim)	Kevin Hinchey
Registrar	Cheryl Kappel
Equipment/Uniform Director	Kevin Hinchey
Tournament Director	Greg Collins
Referee Chief	Meagan Boyle
Sponsorship & Community Liaison Director	Saye Sathiyakumar
Disciplinary Director	Chris Crosthwaite
Communications Director	Rick Meraw
Player Development Director	Mark Doty &
	Jonathan Reynolds
Player Safety Director	Krista Montgomery

Note: All positions are acclaimed and vacancies will be filled by appointment by the Executive Committee.

#### **PROPOSED AMENDMENTS – BY-LAWS**

None submitted. The Executive Committee will endeavour to review the Sharks Constitution, By-Laws and Rules for the 2025 AGM.

#### SSGHA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES 2023

- 1. Meeting called to order by Moderator, Krista Montgomery at 8:32pm
- Motion to accept 2022 AGM minutes
   First: Wendy Horst and Second: Greg Collins
   Voting- motion passed 13-0
- 3. League Update delivered by Shirley Collins

Our overall registrations numbers increased from previous year, were lower than a typical year, but that was to be expected coming of the previous year without a house league and with the uncertainty of COVID.

- Total Sharks registration for both HL & Rep was 526 compared to 487 in 2020-2021 and compared to 574 in 2019/2020 (pre-COVID)
- This is broken down to HL with 227 for the 2022-2023 season and 210 for the 2020-2021 season vs 299 for Rep whereas the number was lower at 240 for the 2020-2021 season (including 70 Senior). In the 2019-2020 season there were 344 Rep registrations (pre-COVID).

Highlights of the Rep program, we increased had 18 rep teams, including 4 senior women's teams this year, with 9 rep teams advancing to the Provincial tournament in April 2023.

We had a very successful HL season. The highlights included an amazing partnership with Leaside to expand the U15 division. We promoted 3 HL coaches to Rep. U13 and U15 added new tournament banners to the walls at Malvern. At Championship day, we saw 20+ girls jump on the ice for the first time to experience Sharks hockey. We also awarded 2 full registrations thanks to generous donors. Next season we will continue our partnership with Leaside, introduce a New Jersey pattern and hopefully continue to grow the numbers.

Some highlights of the season include the Sharks involvement and participation in the "Same Game Challenge" sponsored by the Canadian Women and Sport with the aim to grow opportunities for girls and women in sport and find ways to motivate girls and women to consider leadership roles. The Sharks will continue to embed many of the lessons learned from this program in our pursuit to grow the game of hockey in our community.

I would like to take this opportunity to thanks my fellow executives and the team volunteers that helped us get through another season under difficult and ever changing conditions. It definitely takes a village to run a hockey organization.

With this in mind, there are some special shout outs to a few people I like to make as we have a number of people leaving the executive and leaving as volunteers for the sharks...

Special thanks to: Rob Abela – who has been on the executive for many years – the bulk of those years as League Ice Scheduler Mike Russell – this past year in the role of Player Development

One final point... We were pleased to receive feedback from the Sharks families that completed the annual satisfaction survey, it was clear that the vast majority of responses were satisfied with the programs offered by the teams again this year.

## 4. Financial Review – Kevin

Motion to accept 2022/23 Financials
 First: Cheryl Kappel and Second: Greg Collins
 Voting -13-0

# 5. Election of Officer and Board of Directors

## 2023-2024 Executive Committee

Position	Slate
President	Shirley Collins
Vice President, Competitive Teams	Wendy Horst
Vice President, House League	Jason George
Secretary	Lindsay Dupuis
Treasurer (interim)	Kevin Hinchey
Registrar	Cheryl Kappel
Equipment/Uniform Director	Kevin Hinchey
Tournament Director	Greg Collins
Referee-in-Chief	Meagan Boyle
Sponsorship & Community Liaison Director	Saye Sathiyakumar
Disciplinary Director	Chris Crosthwaite
Health & Safety Director	Krista Montgomery
Communications Director	Rick Meraw
Player Development Director	Mark Doty, Jonathan Reynolds

Note: All positions are acclaimed and vacancies will be filled by appointment by the Executive Committee.

Motion to accept the 2022-2023 Executive Team First: Cheryl Kappel and second: Kevin Hinchey Voting – Motion passed 13-0

7. Questions and Answers No questions

### 8. SSGHA 2023 AGM Date

Proposed Amendments to SSGHA By-Laws
 Amendment to include the provision of a Health and Safety Director as mandated by the OWHA.
 Motion to accept the amendment
 First: Rick Meraw and second: Kevin Hinchey

Wednesday May 15, 2024 Motion to accept the proposed 2024 AGM date First: Cheryl Kappel and second: Wendy Horst Voting – Motion passed 13-0

9. **Motion to adjourn the 2023 AGM at 9:00pm** First: Kevin Hinchey and second: Wendy Horst Voting- motion passed 13-0