

# 2025 Scarborough Sharks Girls Hockey Association (SSGHA) Annual General Meeting

Meeting Date: Wednesday May 21, 2025

**Time:** 7:30 – 8:00 PM

**Location:** Virtual via Google Meet

#### Agenda:

- 1. Call to order (7:30 PM sharp)
- 2. Minutes May 2024 AGM
- 3. President's (League's) Address
- 4. Annual Financial Statement
- 5. Election/Acclamation SSGHA Executive Committee 2025-2026
- 6. Ratification of By-Law Made by the Executive Committee during the 2024-2025 season
- 7. SSGHA 2026 AGM Date
- 8. Adjournment

#### **SSGHA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2024**

Please note that every member of the Association is entitled to vote. An Executive member is not allowed to vote for a member. Votes will be by raised hands unless otherwise requested. All motions will be carried by a majority vote of member present.

A copy of the Minutes from the 2024 Annual General Meeting are attached.

The AGM package has been posted and made available to delegates via the Sharks website.

Guests are welcome to attend as observers, with speaking privileges at the discretion of the President.

## Election of Officer and Board of Directors 2025-2026 Executive Committee

Position	Slate
President	Shirley Collins
Vice President, Competitive Teams	Wendy Horst
Vice President, House League	Jason George
Secretary	Krista Montgomery
Treasurer (interim)	Kevin Hinchey
Director	Greg Collins
Director	(Vacant)
Director	Chris Crosthwaite
Director	Rick Meraw
Director	Jon Reynolds

Note: All positions are acclaimed and vacancies will be filled by appointment by the Executive Committee.

#### SSGHA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES 2024

1. Meeting called to order at 8:32pm

#### 2. Motion to accept 2023 AGM minutes

First: Wendy Horst and Second: Greg Collins

Voting- motion passed 11-0

#### 3. League Update

The Sharks overall registrations numbers increased from previous year. Total Sharks registration for both HL & Rep was 537 compared to 526 in 2022-2023; 487 in 2020-2021 and compared to 574 in 2019/2020 (pre-COVID)

This is broken down to HL with 218; 227 for the 2022-2023 season and 210 for the 2021-2022 season vs 299 for Rep whereas the number was higher at 319; at 240 for the 2021-2022 season (including 70 Senior). In the 2019-2020 season there were 344 Rep registrations and 227 HL registrations for a total of 571 players (pre-COVID).

Highlights of the Rep program, we increased had 15 rep teams, including 4 senior women's teams this year, with 11 rep teams advancing to the Provincial tournament in April 2024.

We had a very successful HL season. The highlights included a partnership with Leaside, continued from the previous season, to expand the U15 and Open divisions. The loss of HL players in the U15 division materialized in gains for the Sharks rep program and teams. The challenge moving forward will be to increase HL registrations.

Thank you to Wendy Horst and Jason George as Vice Presidents of Rep and HL programs, respectively, for carrying out another successful season.

Thank you to Meagan Boyle, Erik Peters and Heidi Boyle for assigning game officials to all games.

One final point... We were pleased to receive feedback from the Sharks families that completed the annual satisfaction survey, it was clear that the vast majority of responses were satisfied with the programs offered by the teams again this year.

#### 4. Financial Review

A. Motion to accept 2023/24 Financials
 First: Cheryl Kappel and Second: Greg Collins
 Voting -11-0

#### 5. Election of Officer and Board of Directors

#### 2023-2024 Executive Committee

Position	Slate
President	Shirley Collins
Vice President, Competitive Teams	Wendy Horst
Vice President, House League	Jason George
Secretary	Lindsay Dupuis
Treasurer (interim)	Kevin Hinchey

Basitian	Clata
Position	Slate
Registrar	Cheryl Kappel
Equipment/Uniform Director	Kevin Hinchey
Tournament Director	Greg Collins
Referee-in-Chief	Meagan Boyle
Sponsorship & Community Liaison Director	Saye Sathiyakumar
Disciplinary Director	Chris Crosthwaite
Health & Safety Director	Krista Montgomery
Communications Director	Rick Meraw
Player Development Director	Mark Doty,
	Jonathan Reynolds

Note: All positions are acclaimed and vacancies will be filled by appointment by the Executive Committee.

Motion to accept the 2023-2024 Executive Team First: Cheryl Kappel and second: Kevin Hinchey Voting – Motion passed 11-0

### 6. **Proposed Amendments to SSGHA By-Laws**None were submitted.

#### 7. Questions and Answers

No questions.

#### 8. SSGHA 2025 AGM Date

Wednesday May 21, 2025 Motion to accept the proposed 2025 AGM date First: Cheryl Kappel and second: Wendy Horst Voting – Motion passed 11-0

#### 9. Motion to adjourn the 2024 AGM at 8:54pm

First: Kevin Hinchey and second: Wendy Horst Voting- motion passed 11-0