History (Scarborough Sharks Girls Hockey Association)

OWHA logo


In 1978 the Scarborough Girls Hockey Association was created, establishing a legacy and providing opportunities for young women to play our national sport and pursue our passion on the ice. Prior to this milestone, girls played in their own divisions in four Scarborough boys associations - the Agincourt Canadians, Cedar Hill, Clairlea and West Hill. These boys’ leagues each donated $100 in order to establish the Scarborough Girls Hockey Association. The league’s first President was a visionary in the community - Don Montgomery.

In the league’s first season, there were 16 house league teams divided in to 4 divisions. All the games were played at McGregor Park Arena. It is with pride that one of the league’s earliest stars happens to be Vicky Sunohara, Captain of the Canadian National Women’s Ice Hockey Team, who led the team to World and Olympic championships from 1998 to 2006, and is currently is the Head Coach of the University of Toronto Varsity Blues women’s hockey team.

In 1991, the Scarborough Girls Hockey Association formally became known as the Scarborough Sharks Girls Hockey Association. Our volunteers are passionate in their support for the on-going development of the game and we are an active member of the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association. Since those early years, a number of its alumnae have been awarded NCAA scholarships to premier post-secondary institutions across Canada and the United States based on ice hockey as well as academic achievements. It is a source of pride that house league teams continue to draw the attention and participation of young women across the Scarborough community and that this growth has largely contributed to the success of the competitive teams program within the association. In the 2018-2019 season, the Sharks registered 704 young women playing in 42 combined house league and competitive teams.

As the association focuses on the upcoming 40th anniversary celebrations of the Scarborough Sharks in the 2018-2019 season, the league acknowledges the vision, hard work, dedication, commitment and support of its volunteers from coaches, trainers, team staff, and members at large. Its success over the years has relied on the strength of its players, people, and community partners.

The Sharks also recognise the importance of pursuing post-secondary educational opportunities and offer several bursaries each year.  The Mike Serio Bursary provides financial support of $750 for one House League and one Rep Level player attending college or university.

Please continue to explore our web site for more information on the Sharks and opportunities to join our association.



Don Montgomery (1978-1979)
Nancy Routley (1979-1980)
Carole Bass (1980-1985)
Rosalie Robinson (1985-1990)
Jim Brown (1990-1992)
Mike Serio (1992-1995)
Marg Allen (1995-1996)
Mike Serio (1996-2002)
Martin Kenney (2002-2004)
Wendy Boyle (2004-2008)
Patrick Carew (2008-2011)
Wendy Boyle (2011-2019)
Shirley Collins (2023-present)